Missional Journal Vol. 3 No. 4 – The Old That is Strong Does Not Wither

Does the notion of “tradition” function positively or negatively for you?  Is the distinction between tradition and traditionalism a helpful way to frame the discussion?

4 Responses to Missional Journal Vol. 3 No. 4 – The Old That is Strong Does Not Wither

  1. Diane says:

    Hi Dr. D.
    My remote access server is not letting me read your missional journals right now. The question you posted here is interesting, though. For me, tradition in general is wonderful because it provides roots and history, a name and an identity. If you mean by “traditionalism” that if we think since we have always done something one way we must always do it that way, then well, that can be stifling. But I think neither tradition nor traditionalism are the same as truth. Don’t mess with truth. That stays the same. I think a tradition is a form of communicating the truth–I think I’m trying to say like a liturgy, or an illustration, or a an enacted representation of something real. You know–like Fiddler on the Roof. Traditions change but it is true that families love and hurt together.

  2. Dave,
    This was refreshing and stabalizing to read. After a long/short summer I felt comforted by reading these words. For I too struggle with the boundaries we strive to stretch and adhere to. I especially enjoyed the perspective you presented on interpretation. Thank you for refreshing and reminding me of what’s at stake…the Love and creativity of the “Kingdom”. I plan to forward this to many of my fellows who wrestle with me and my perspecive which is most times different than theirs. Thank you again.

  3. Excellent site, keep up the good work

  4. Dave, keep writing. I find each of your articles encouraging and stimulating to my work as pastor in interesting/changing times. If someone asked me where to study theology today, I would without hestitation say, “go to Biblical.”

Leave a Reply

