Missional Journal Vol. 3 No. 2 – Everything Changes

How would a missional approach impact the life of your church?

4 Responses to Missional Journal Vol. 3 No. 2 – Everything Changes

  1. Richard says:

    Your learning and leadership moves me at my core. I am a layman who will soon retire. I majored in biblical education in college with no emphasis on theology and church history. Our baptist church pastor is earning a phd at Calvin seminary and teaching missional concepts. My passion is learning. I pray for you.

  2. Hello Dave,

    This is why I continue to recommend Biblical Seminary. Your leadership, the faculty, and the vision you continually put forth engender confidence. I am hopeful others will stand with you and the faculty in living out this vision according to your vocational callings at Biblical. Were I blessed with means I would happily throw large support your way.

    Blessings.
    Todd

  3. Wayne Heflin says:

    Dear Dr. Dunbar, I agree with all this. I think I have agreed with all this since I was saved 39 years ago. But from the point of view of the “Person in the pew/chair” its theory. How can I get the people in my church connected and EXCITED about missions; as well as the missionaries our church supports. I am looking for “nuts and bolts.
    By the way I am friends of Al Tricarico and Dan McBride, and regularly receive their news letters.
    wayne heflin, class of ’84

  4. John Teets says:

    I met one of your admin people at a funeral yesterday, and we were talking a bi about the direction of the seminary, and he was distinguishing “missional” from “emergent” as he saw it. Hence i have looked into the matter from both sides, as my wife has been considering going to Biblical. It seems that the missional idea deviates from Bibllcal precedent. After all, Paul and the other apostles once they left Jerusalem were dealing with alien cultures with no “memory” of Christ. They were preaching as it were to blank sheets of paper. The message of the gospel is through the preaching of the word through the anointing and power of the Holy Spirit. Even today in a so-called post-modern world, people with no knowledge of God will respond to the gospel. This is also the case in the third world. There are Mormon, Islamic, and Jewish congregations that all have the attributes you are describing, but no one can be saved from hell by joining them or following heir positive moral positions. I Corinthians 2 is operative here – it is the wisdom of the Spirit, not the wisdom of man. The preaching of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but it truly is the pattern set by God. Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. The doing of the word for sure has to follow, and anyone familiar with my ministry knows that I provoke the church in terms of racial equity, true holiness, and death to self that my heart is for a church community that is superior to even the best New Testament era churches. Nonetheless, it is Christ who saves, not the church.

Leave a Reply

